Lunch For One–Lightly Poached Salmon Served With Fig & Raisin Chutney

Steel grey in colour the choppy waves capped with white foam, heave and churn wildly below my garden deck, it is as always quite an awesome site. It’s raining too and I am pleased that I shopped for food yesterday.

Tomatoes cut in half lightly drizzled with olive oil, topped with a smidge of Demerara sugar, a light sprinkle of Greek oregano and salt and pepper, are roasting off in the oven. It should take about an hour and half at 180C to reduce them to a concentrated richness. When done I put them in a pot, add some chicken stock, correct the seasoning and simmer for about 5 minutes then blend the lot together. Sometimes I will strain the soup, most times I prefer not to. By roasting the tomatoes you get a rich unctuous creamy textured soup yet it has no cream, served with some crusty homemade bread and a good bottle Gently poached salmon served with fig and raisin chutneyof wine it makes a perfect light dinner or a starter.

But for lunch; a nice piece of fresh farmed salmon seasoned and gently poached in about two table spoons of the fat, skimmed off the top of the stock from last night’s coq au vin, it adds another layer of subtle flavour. I serve the salmon with some fig and raisin chutney which compliments the fish beautifully.

5 thoughts on “Lunch For One–Lightly Poached Salmon Served With Fig & Raisin Chutney

  1. jennyozzy

    you sound a really good cook kate does the sea come so close to your house hope you stay warm and enjoy the food and the weekend xxjen

    Reply
  2. Androgoth

    I have never had fig and raisins together Kate but if you say
    it is a very nice idea then perhaps I should try some of that?
    I hope that you are enjoying a very exciting evening and that
    you have some wicked plans for the weekend too…

    Be Good Now Kate, but never too good okay? lol

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply
  3. Androgoth

    Have a lovely weekend Kate and let me have more of
    your wonderful, mouth wateringly excellent recipes, your
    pages are most deliciously themed my great friend…

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply
  4. Androgoth

    I have just set my Space Private Kate so when you return to
    your blogging let me know, and I will re-add you…

    I hope that you are well my great friend…

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

