After The Madness of the Festive Season

After all the Christmas and New Year hosting, feasting and  of being hosted, I was rather desperate to get away from it all and food wise needed something really simple and easy on the stomach. There were some lovely leaks in the fridge and I also had some nice potatoes in my storeroom. I decided that a delicious leak and potato soup, followed by a crisp salad would do the trick.

As it happens the first dish I ever cooked on my own at the tender age of 11, under the direction of the Chef who I was totally in awe of, was potato and leek soup. I loved it then and I still do so now. That anything so simple could taste so good!

And of course; with the beautiful view of the ocean below my sundeck, the magnificent yacht anchored in the bay, with such an awesome view eating in made me feel that I was in the best restaurant in the whole world. What more could one ask for.

The view from my deck

This is his (the Chefs) original recipe from way back then.

Leak and Potato Soup  ( So simple yet so delicious)

Served on my deck, while watching the sun set gently over the sea.

serves 4

Ingredients

4 leeks cut into small dice (there should be about 1½ cups)

1 medium onion peeled and diced (about ½ cups)

2 Tbsp. butter

4-5 potatoes peeled and cut into about 1cm dice (about 3 cups)

4 Water

2 cups milk

2 tsp. salt (or to your taste)

White pepper to taste

Method

Melt the butter in a large saucepan, add the leeks and onion, cook them slowly, covered, for a few minutes, or until they are soft but not brown, stirring occasionally.

Then add the potatoes, 4 cups of water, 2 teaspoons of salt and simmer covered for about 30 -40 minutes, or until the potatoes are soft.

Add 2 cups of hot milk and a tablespoon of butter; simmer gently for a few seconds, blend together but not too much.  Taste and correct the seasoning.

Serve with some fresh crusty bread and a nice glass of wine.

16 thoughts on “After The Madness of the Festive Season

  1. judexy

    Hi Kate,

    This sounds so tasty. Thanks for sharing.

    I will try it. I have arrange for a gas cooker in the yard so as not to bother people in the kitchen.

    Hugs.

    Reply
  2. kenny2dogs

    Hello Kate, I often make this, but instead of so much “salt” I use a rasher or two of bacon, cut into small pieces.
    In answer to your question on my site…I am ok ! have just been feeling very tired of late.
    Take care Kate.
    Kenny x

    Reply
    1. Coffee With Kate Post author

      Hello Laird, good to hear from you.
      I have always felt that a recipe should be something to inspire, remind and lightly influence rather than a set of instructions to be followed, pedantically, to the letter. This is the Chefs original recipe; feel free to change it as you would like. Yes it is good with some bacon as it is with garlic too.

      Reply
  3. brentwoodprop

    Like Kenny and Laird (it must be a British thing) I like a bacon flavour with my Leekie soup so I use the stock left from cooking a ham or bacon joint gives a wonderful flavour, but i am going to try your version it sounds delicious, I too have a good view from my patio window (of the Wildwood) but I would love to swap it for yours once in a while!

    love Suki x

    Reply
  4. jennyozzy

    sounds lovely kate and il try making some i love making soup its a great light meal have a lovely weekend xxjen

    Reply
  5. Horst in Edmonton

    Hi Kate, thanks for your comment on my blog, as for your recipe, I will have to give it a try. I have had some Leek Soup in resteruants but have not made any of my own yet. I will let you know how I like it. Thank you for the recipe.

    Reply
  6. judexy

    Hi Kate,

    I have not yet tried it because I am afraid of failure as far as cooking is concerned.

    One more failure will make me feel that I am worthless ! lol.

    Hugs.

    Reply
  7. andro51

    Yum I do enjoy home made soups and guess what?
    I like to make them too… Have a wicked rest of evening
    Kate and keep adding to your excellent Space here…

    Wicked…

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

