Scents that Stimulate the Brain

Citrus for the senses2Certain scents stimulate the brain and can make you feel more awake and refreshed.

Three that do the trick are jasmine, which increases beta waves; the brain waves associated with alertness, and citrus and peppermint scents, which induce wakefulness by stimulating the trigeminal nerve; the same nerve that’s activated when one is revived with smelling salts.

If you want to feel good in the morning  peel and eat an orange for breakfast or deeply inhale as you drink a cup of peppermint tea, or lather up with a citrus-scented body wash in the shower. You’ll feel wonderfully alert and delightfully refreshed.

11 thoughts on “Scents that Stimulate the Brain

  1. judexy

    Hi Kate,

    Thanks for this post.

    I will do it in a more conscious manner though I have peppermint often in the coconut chutney. I think, you mean, we should take the peppermint scent, not really eating it !

    I drink Jasmine Tea often when I need to put my digestion good.

    Now I will take the scents instead of eating the fruits ! Will the essential oils do ?

    Have a very good week ahead.

    Hugs,

    Reply
  2. andro51

    There’s nothing quite like the zest of an orange is there? well there is but I’m not telling so hard lines… lol I’m just kidding Kate, i hope you’ve had a lovely Crimbo with lashings of excellent pressies, great times and wondrously enchanting moments… And as it’s the New Year there’s lots and lots more of those opportunities to enjoy yourself… Be good but of course be wicked too… lol

    Androgoth XXx

    Reply
  3. Slowvelder

    I was always a grumpy morning person – only waking properly and getting my sense of humour round 9 am. I noticed that this has suddenly changed in my life and questioned everyone as to why this would be – because the change has been drastic.
    You post has given me one potential answer. The changes only happened when I started working in a citrus packhouse. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Coffee With Kate Post author

      Hello Slowvelder,
      I’m pleased to know that you are benefitting from the essence of the citrus fruit in the citrus pack house. Inhale deeply and consciously enjoy every moment.
      I would appreciate more feedback as you become more and more aware of beneficial changes.
      Take care
      Kate

      Reply

Leave a Reply

