I am free to be imperfect

It is good to remember that one of our goals in life is to not be perfect. We often lose track of this aspiration. When we make mistakes, we think that we are failing or not measuring up. But if life is about experimenting, experiencing, and learning, then to be imperfect is a prerequisite.

This doesn’t mean that we don’t strive to be our best. We simply accept that there is no such thing as perfection, in life. All living things are in a ceaseless state of movement. Even as you read this, your hair is growing, your cells are dying and being reborn, and your blood is moving through your veins. Your life changes more than it stays the same. Perfection may happen in a moment, but it will not last because it is an impermanent state. Trying to hold on to perfection or forcing it to happen causes frustration and unhappiness.

In spite of this, many of us are in the habit of trying to be perfect. One way to nudge ourselves out of this tendency is to look at our lives and notice that no one is judging. Sometimes, perfectionism is a holdover from our childhood, an ideal we inherited from a demanding parent. We are adults now, and we can choose to let go of the need to perform for someone else’s approval. Similarly, we can choose to experience the universe as a loving place where we are free to be imperfect. Once we realize this, we can begin to take ourselves less seriously and have more fun. Imperfection is inherent to being human. By embracing your imperfections, you embrace yourself and life becomes more interesting.

Technorati Tags: ,

10 thoughts on “I am free to be imperfect

  1. Kenneth

    Push yourself again and again. Don’t give an inch until the final buzzer sounds.Have a simply perfect day Kate.Now, which way to the swimming pool !

    Reply
  2. LAIRD

    Only by learning from our mistakes can we become more perfect. We must strive to eradicate imperfection. Whether it be moral,political or financial. The most imperfect person I read about in Africa is only a border away from you and not my idea of a role model! One level of perfection must become your norm. To accept imperfection is a slap in the face to progress.

    Reply
  3. Suki x

    Oh dear! How much fun would being perfect be? But I will continue to try, Oh I just heard my daughters say I am…. all in the eye of the beholder!Suki x

    Reply
  4. St.Dan-Marius

    Good afternoon,Kate,here it·s five a·clock tea time (I·am a coffee drinker)My name is Dan and I decided to leave my monk-habits and to start to speak with the others.Therefore I opened a window-space and,searching for conexions,I found your one.I know/suppose that the women are more communicative and,following the logic of my observations in the past-time,it is easier to start talking with a women if the subject is to communicate.I was atracted by the theme–the perfection and I·m trying now to express what I thought about that and I·ll feel in the nexts minutes.So! "I am free to be imperfect"…I am not so sure that we,the human beings,are free to have this choice. Supposing that God·s hand/Big Bang is our progenitor…starting from a the smalest distance(I mean any kind of circumstance) from that Source we are imperfect and,so to say,the imperfection is written deep-deep inside our initial purity/our genes.It is our human Destiny and therefore being free to be what already we are(viewing the perfection as something negative) is not liberty,but to follow the same way together with those that think they have no liberty.If so-is here (in this world) any solution? One can be to learn to be free inside a restriction and later outside of that one restriction;(and here the problem is that the people choose to be distroy the others restriction,but not the personal one;it·s easier,but trickier action!)If somebody can reach the liberty of his/her own (internal/external) conditions gains the LIBERTY TO BECOME PERFECT.What I said the up lines here is not adverse to what You said…I just tried to give a nuance.Sorry,at this moment I must go…even I have more to say about that!I·ll come back! Respectfull,Dan

    Reply
  5. Judex

    Hi Kate,Two fears may be the reason for People to try to be perfect :1. Fear not to be up to the standard.2. Fear to be abandoned as stupid.No one can be perfect to the true sense of the word. Working fast and be free soonest is good focus to make us good, I always do it because I am on a holiday Island. Further, being free soonest makes me available for any emergency. Very good feeling to be always free, but I still work a lot.Hugs,Judex. xxxxxx

    Reply
  6. LAIRD

    so our sexist monk pre supposes that a "god " exists – but relinquishes his position in the hallowed cloisters of a sect. His dogma says man must be perfect to reach "heaven – religious ideaology is attempting to destroy mans true right to life within mother natures predefined set of rules. For the past 2000 years we have abused her,we the people have been indoctrinated by false prophets. Global warning ? Take heed ! Perfection must be the goal – second best just is not enough for our survival !

    Reply
  7. Coffee With Kate

    This little post seems to have attracted a lively debate. Anyone out there got anything to add…..? it would be interesting to read your comments.Kind thoughts to all,Kate.

    Reply
  8. Kenneth

    Well, I can not add more than I have stated, except to say. "It was not until you turned to walk away from the pool, that I noticed you had the perfect posterior"

    Reply

Leave a Reply

