Thai Prawns and Unexpected Guests

I received unexpected guest whose visit equally unexpectedly extended to dinner. Quickly rummaging through the deep freeze I found a packet of good quality frozen prawns and a packet of frozen peas, In the fridge was some lovely organic cream and some herbs, resulting in the recipe that follows. Hope you love it as much as we did.

Kind thoughts

Kate

Kate’s ‘Thai’ Prawn Dish

Level of difficulty: Easy

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • I packet frozen prawns thawed
  • 250ml cream
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon leaf Masala
  • 1 chilli
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • Thumb size piece of grated fresh ginger
  • 1 cup of frozen peas thawed by pouring over some boiling water
  • 3 to 4 kaffir lime leaves (or replace with grated lemon zest) 
  • ¼ teaspoon sugar
  • Small handful of roughly chopped coriander leaves
  • Salt
  • Cracked pepper

Serve with Basmati Rice and a side salad

Method:

Heat the olive oil in a pan, add the leaf masala and sauté for a few seconds, add the chilli, ginger and sugar, sauté for another minute or two; add the garlic and the cream and bring up to the boil and simmer together for about 5 minutes. Add the thawed prawns and the peas; simmer until the prawns are cooked through; about 3-4 minutes. Take off the heat, sprinkle over the chopped coriander and serve with Basmati rice and a side salad. Your guests will love it.

7 thoughts on “Thai Prawns and Unexpected Guests

  1. Kenneth

    Sounds very tasty indeed…I was so sure there was a packet of prawns in the freezer, I was wrong. I shall have to go to Morrison’s and buy some, fresh ones I think.
    Will have to use lemon zest, those Kaffir leaves are rare as frogs feathers.
    Thank you for the coffee Kate.
    Keep smiling 🙂  xx
     

    Reply
  2. Coffee With Kate

    Hi Kenny, thanks for the visit. I just Love the frog feathers description. Yes Kaffir Lime leaves are not always easy to find. I am however lucky to have a tree albeit a small one, growing in my kitchen garden.
    take care and enjoy making the recipe.
    Kate.xxx

    Reply
  3. Kenneth

    Well that was a interesting little dish, I put to much ginger in it but was still most enjoyable.
    Shall remember next time to take it easy with it, but I just love ginger.
    have a pleasent week Kate.
    Kenny xx
     

    Reply
  4. Coffee With Kate

    Hi Kenny, thanks for the feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food. The cream can of course be replaced with coconut milk or even wine.
    You have a pleasant week as well.
    Kate xxx

    Reply
  5. LAIRD

    Coconut milk and wine in place of the frozen prawns sounds good to me as does the defeathered frogs. Maybe chicken or cod will surfice?

    Reply
  6. Coffee With Kate

    Hello £aird, thanks for the visit and the smile. Yes chicken or cod can be used instead of prawns.
    Kate.

    Reply
  7. Judex

    Kate,
     
    For a Cook like me, I should have a video showing yourself cooking it !  Why not get yourself on the web ?  You will be my best Teacher. At last, I will get rid of my 3-minute-noodle a 2:00 in the morning, just before going to bed at 3:00.
     
    Big hugs,
    Judex. xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

