Forgiveness holds a great value

One cannot avoid daily resentment and thoughts of guilt. They are a part of human nature. What we can do is release their grip on us by forgiving others and ourselves daily.

Forgiveness requires nothing in return. There are no conditions. But what the process does is it gets rid of old baggage and clears up unfinished business. It leads us to a life of authenticity, lightness and directness. Forgiveness is the highest form of letting go of resentment and ego.

True forgiveness is more than an apology, understanding and acceptance. There is an element of recreating and re-imagining. There is a need to envision ourselves as more loving, interdependent, courageous and compassionate. Forgiveness requires honouring the sacred journey of learning about life – our life and others’.

As long as you don’t forgive, who and whatever it is will occupy rent-free space in your mind.

4 thoughts on “Forgiveness holds a great value

  1. Mei's

    Hi Kate, I used to very hard to forgive people who are not nice to me, but as i get older or may be its living with hubby and his father i have changed a bit, my temper is a little bit mellower. But on what he(FIL) been doing and behave to me the last year or so, i find very hard to put up with him anymore, life is hard and not a wise thing to do to cope on my own, but its no way i want to live with my father in-law anymore, i think living under his roof for nearly 17 years is a surprise for myself and my friends and him. Don’t thing many woman can do that, especially with my bipolar. Forgiveness is out of question in this case. Have a great day! Mei

    Reply
  2. Judex

     
    Hi Kate,
     
    This is true.
     
    Why should we generate bile because of hatred ? A good digestion and sweet sleep are better !
     
    Many Friends told me that each time they see me, I appear younger.  I always answer : " Forgive, Forget, Love ".  If a Man practice it, it becomes second nature in him.
     
    Kate,  I wish you a most peaceful weekend.
    Judex. xxxxx
     
     

    Reply
  3. Alice

    I like your space so much I am going to subscribe to to get all the up to date useful information on it. I like it.
     
    I am starting to try and be positive and try to be forgiving. I try to make my inside have a blissful feeling. Sometimes it just escapes me but I am sure you would know how to recreate it in an instant. I know that there are some mantras you can recite and straight  away you have a good feeling. may be this too helps engender forgiveness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

