Practice Detachment

Good Morning and welcome to 2008. I hope you all had a wonderful time over the festive period and that the New Year has started off well for everyone. Lots of blessing to all. And here is today’s little snippet to ponder over, or not!

"Until we take how we see ourselves (and how we see others) into account, we will be unable to understand how others see and feel about themselves and their world. Unaware, we will project our intentions on their behavior and call ourselves objective." — Stephen Covey
As our consciousness rises, our perspective becomes more and more impersonal. What does this mean?

It means we are increasingly able to view our lives and the rest of the world with detachment. This does not mean we are cold and uncaring. Rather, we are self-contained. We have well-defined boundaries and we are able to think and act objectively, clearly and responsibly.
When we have learned detachment, we do not get hooked into the thoughts and feelings of others. We are not easily upset or manipulated. We may feel compassion for others but this does not cloud our ability to choose how we think, feel and behave. We also do not need others to behave in any particular way.

6 thoughts on “Practice Detachment

  1. Kenneth

    "When we have learned detachment, we do not get hooked into the thoughts and feelings of others".
     
    mmm….  I have practised detachment for years and have been labeled cold hearted and unfeeling, But just occasionally it becomes difficult.
    When we are in love it seems impossible NOT to become upset or manipulated by that person, "to a degree". Perhaps that is why I don’t like being in love.
                                            How can I be rid of this terrible enchantment.

    Reply
  2. Mei's

    Dear Kate, I’m still just guessing your meaning (its my English) I agree with you there, when you learned from detachment, or my case, I say experience the detachment, I do get hooked on thoughts, but not feelings. Sometimes, I asked myself, am I selfish? Because, I don’t think of them anymore, I need space! Do hope you unerstand what I talking about. Hope you had a Nice New Year holiday! Mei

    Reply
  3. Coffee With Kate

    In answer to Kenny and Mei,
    Most of humanity needs to learn the art of allowing; instead we are firmly entrenched in action reaction mode. If we allow people their experience, their understanding, their problems, their ‘moment’, instead of making their issues our concern (therefore detachment); there will be less conflict. But as Kenny says, it is often hard to remain outside of the problem…….practice by being aware of your reaction or action and know that at all times you have choices in how you choose to respond to any situation. And know that whatever response you choose will in return be the reaction you will get.
    xxx

    Reply
  4. LAIRD

    To hang on to one’s sanity one must learn to detach oneself from the negative forces generated by others. It is better to be alone and  ‘not unhappy’ than than the alternative! Cold? Unfeeling? I don’t think so!

    Reply
  5. Cindy

    Yeah … this is a big problem for me … ‘choosing’ how I react.
     
    Hello Kate,
     
    It’s been awhile since I’ve stopped in for some coffee.  Hope your New Year is wonderful.
     
    Cindy
     

    Reply
  6. Mei's

    Hi, just a quick thank you Kate, I was half way doing your comment and your email turn up. Thanks so much. You may give us a big help. talk to you soon. Mei

    Reply

Leave a Reply

