Eighth Wonder of The World?

 

The stunning temples secretly carved out below ground

 

Nestling in the foothills of the Alps in northern Italy, 30 miles from the ancient city of Turin, lies the valley of Valchiusella. Peppered with medieval villages, the hillside scenery is certainly picturesque.

But it is deep underground, buried into the ancient rock, that the region’s greatest wonders are concealed.

Here, 100ft down and hidden from public view, lies an astonishing secret – one that has drawn comparisons with the fabled city of Atlantis and has been dubbed ‘the Eighth Wonder of the World’ by the Italian government.

For weaving their way underneath the hillside are nine ornate temples, on five levels, whose scale and opulence take the breath away.

Constructed like a three-dimensional book, narrating the history of humanity, they are linked by hundreds of metres of richly decorated tunnels and occupy almost 300,000 cubic feet – Big Ben is 15,000 cubic feet. (Daily Mail)

4 thoughts on “Eighth Wonder of The World?

  1. Ye Olde

    Hi Kate,
    I saw this on the Daily Mail web site….its fabulous, though I only had time for a quick perusal of the pics, I didn’t have time to find out who had actually perpetrated this masterpiece..problem is now that it is common knowledge it will probably be ruined by folks keen to view the site ( which I can’t really blame them for ).
    Over here, the nation is in mouring for the demise of English football, with all sorts of accusations & recriminatons flying around…but no resignations, plenty of " termination of contracts " with all the benifits THAT brings.
    £2.5 MILLION to our ex head coach for failing in his job… if I failed in my job, & got the sack,all I would get would be a kick up the backside as I left the premises!! ; o )
    Weather wise it has been cold ( very cold ) and a little bit wet, though today is a bit better…actually I have just rememberes that the world cup draw is taking place out in S.A. now I think…does that get reported much?
    Have a great week, keep enjoying the view, and those whales,
    see you soon,
    Woof woof x
    ps. I haven’t had a cup of coffee yet… I must go and rectify that now, thanks for reminding me!

    Reply
  2. Judex

    Hi Kate,
     
    This must be so wonderful !  If possible, please show us more pictures.
     
    Monday morning and I am rushing out !   I wish you a great, great week.
     
    Love,
    Judex. xxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

