Grandma’s Secrets – Part One

As far as old fashioned home remedies and recipes are concerned, a lot of them are hopelessly outdated and have been replaced by modern ideas, although some of them are fascinating and inspire us to examine the roots of our modern philosophies. Here are a few extracted from the hundreds of remedies passed on for generations which are easy to make with everyday household ingredients or a quick nip out to a health shop.

Remedies for beautiful strong hair

Hot oil treatment

Gently heat any vegetable oil. Apply to hair and cover with a shower cap or plastic Clingfilm wrap. Leave on for 10-20 minutes. Shampoo with warm water.

For shiny hair

Take an egg yolk and mix it with 3 tablespoons of beer. Wet your hair and apply the mixture over your entire head. Leave it on for 10 minutes. Rinse your hair with warm water and vinegar.

Natural highlights

On a warm, sunny day apply lemon juice to wet hair and sit outside in the sun. after doing this a couple of times, you will have natural highlights that last.

5 thoughts on “Grandma’s Secrets – Part One

  1. Mei's

    Hi Kate, just popped in to say hello, I might try the natural highlights on a sunny day with my daughter, it need to wait till next summer! Mei

    Reply
  2. Isabelle

    Hi Kate!
     
    How are you?
     
    Thanks for poping in!
     
    I think you read in people mind!
     
    This morning I was wondering what I could do with that strange battling thing growing on my head. I swear!!!!!
     
    Will need to try the hot oil treatment for my hair are quite brittle these days and kind of pulling out easily from my head…..pfffffff….. Protein missing somewhere I think……
     
    I’m waiting for the second part of your blog eagerly!
     
    Take care,
    Isa;0)

    Reply
  3. Kenneth

    This post is not very helpful to the £aird, as you know he is follicly challenged.  I myself have been endowed with such lustrous locks, and many ladies have delighted in its quality whilst running their fingers through it.
     
    RE: The gathering, anywhere would suit me fine if the sleeping arrangements were to my satisfaction.
    I shudder at the thought of waking up with a hangover and gazing into the £airds face.   Ahhhhhhhhh.
     
    Have a pleasant week Kate.
     
     
     

    Reply

Leave a Reply

