Guilt Free Play

When you’re tempted with a promise of pleasure, does guilt promptly spoil it for you? There is no pleasure in having nothing to do; the fun is in having lots to do and not doing it.

For many of us, the work ethic still rules supreme. It keeps our life out of balance and our health at risk. There will always be lots of work to do. We can’t wait for it to go away to enjoy ourselves.

Become aware of your attitude towards rest, relaxation, and pleasure and fun. When you give yourself a break, do you carry guilt through it? Deep down, do you believe that you don’t deserve to have a good time, or that you haven’t earned a holiday? If you do discover these thoughts, send them packing, for guilt it is said, is the source of sorrows, the avenging fiend that follows us behind with whips and stings.

2 thoughts on “Guilt Free Play

  1. Kenneth

    I have a mountain of things to do, but I can only see that mountain becoming higher and higher, and being the slob I am I shall feel no guilt at all. No whips and stings for me thank you.
     

    Reply
  2. meg

     This has been a hard won lesson, but one I think I’ve taken to heart. I struggle with the tiniest bit of guilt when I go off to "play" be myself & leave the boys home working, but as the old adage goes- "If Mama isn’t happy, no one is happy" 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

