Smile, its free therapy

We soon learn that if we put a smile on our face when feeling down, our spirits will automatically lift. The body ‘knows’ that a smile means happiness.

Interestingly though, knowing this doesn’t mean that we are always willing to comply and many times, we just absolutely refused to cheer up.

It’s an indication that sometimes the ego positively enjoys being miserable. It seems that if we talk of our misfortunes there is something in them that is not disagreeable to us; for where there is nothing but pure misery there is never any recourse to the mention of it. It can be enlightening to explore the pay-offs we get from our black moods.

4 thoughts on “Smile, its free therapy

  1. LAIRD

    I contend that it is impossible to ‘turn on’ a smile. Seeing all these so called celebs is an example of what I mean! The chuckle buds need stimulating before a real smile can be produced. Reading ‘The World of Wooster’ by P G Wodehouse can guarantee a smile which soon produces a few belly laughs. Hope you are relaxing after your extended soiree – I have missed my daily coffee.

    Reply
  2. Kenneth

    Occasionally I notice I’m frowning for no apparent reason whatsoever and have to make a conscious effort to release my furrowed brow into what I hope comes across as approachable as opposed to looking just plain pissed off. Having recently been told that I should smile more, it concerns me – which makes me frown again – there are times when I’m looking annoyed unnecessarily and being completely oblivious of it, there’s little I can do to fix this. On the upside, I guess I’m not looking like some complete gimp with a slightly psychotic grin permanently plastered across my gob, a "turned on" smile as the £. puts it.
     
     Quite often a  smile consoles us, although it is not always encouraging and illumining. We notice at times that there is a motive behind the smile. The smile at times wants to be reciprocated; we smile and we want the world to smile back at us. 🙂
    Thanx for the coffee Kate. your tip is under the saucer 🙂
     
     

    Reply
  3. LAIRD

    Ok lets be honest – a ‘turned on’ smile is a leer, much perfected by old men in dirty raincoats. I never smile – which annoys folk who have just told a ‘joke’!

    Reply
  4. Coffee With Kate

    Dear £aird, I am on my back laughing at that last comment! I have a whole picture in my head. Thanks for the comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

