Bees are disappearing

Steve Sampson reports that a mysterious ailment is killing America’s honeybees. And we (as in all countries) may be affected, too.
Bees are the worldwide workhorses of managed pollination. They play a vital role in the production of commercially grown crops, pollinating everything from apples, blueberries, and cherries to almonds and zucchini. They also pollinate crops like clover and alfalfa, used to feed the animals we eat.
Of course, bees aren’t nature’s only pollinators. Other insects, birds, and even bats carry pollen between male flower parts and female ones. And most of our major food grains are pollinated by the wind. But when bees call in sick, many, many plants we need to grow go on birth control.
But the bees are disappearing and no one knows what’s driving the die-off, but it does have a name: colony collapse disorder (CCD). Beekeepers first reported CCD in late 2006. Basically, they returned to their hives to find whole colonies devoid of adult bees. The adult bees’ bodies were nowhere to be found, either. They had simply disappeared.
Die-offs of that scale have happened before–notably after the arrival of a parasitic mite in the 1980s. But scientists can’t yet say if CCD is related, or if it’s something entirely new.
In fact, scientists know hardly anything about CCD–though they’re working to solve the mystery. At least this much is certain: these are hard times for honeybees.

 

13 thoughts on “Bees are disappearing

  1. LAIRD

    The varroroa [?] mite has affected bee’s here for over a decade. CCD? Increasing levels of pollution, global warming? Of course the lack of natural pollinators will open the market for GM products. . . !

    Reply
  2. Fallen Angel

    Hello there…thanks for stopping by my space…I love having new visitors. I have a new camera so Ive been busily snapping away wherever I go lol…glad you liked the photos.
    Have a great day
    Love Ally x

    Reply
  3. Sarah

    Hiya Kate,May I have 1 sugar please. The bees… huge things more like monster hornets ie. eeeeeeeeek making are all over here in London. It’s an upsidedown world @ the mo.My grandparents lived in Durban but i never met them. My father was sent over here aged 8 to go to school & never saw them again either = strange times for a child. More the ‘done’ thing in those days I guess…You wanted to see the flowers & you shall see the flowers…. quick quick over to my page… I’ve been cheating.T.C. Love from sarah XXX

    Reply
  4. swamp

    Afternoon Kate, from a very wet Bank Holiday swamp; with the odd ray of sunshine thrown in. Bit like life really.  lol
    Thanks for your recent comment, appreciated. Well, I’ve decided to keep the swamp afloat. A few little changes for now; but I couldn’t just throw it all away for good. So, I’ll have a coffee, whilst I comment about the bees.
    I read a few days ago about this, and one theory put forward for the bees decline, was the radiation from mobile phones. I read later that this was just a bit of ‘sensational’ journalism; but it does make you wonder. I also read, that Einstein reckoned, if all the bees died, mankind would have about 4 years left to live. Scary thought. We should all do more to encourage bees to our gardens where possible.
    Ok, coffee finished, I shall splash away. A lot of catching up to do.  🙂

    Reply
  5. Peter

    Hi KateBees are disappearing in Scotland too … not so many around these days .. and I hardly ever see bumble bees too …One idea put forward was they don’t like mobile phone radiation  : http://news.independent.co.uk/environment/wildlife/article2449968.ece .. and that was also affecting the bee colonies .. so bees and phones may not go together either .. as well as all those nasty insecticides, pollutants, global warming, and everything elseHave a good week too ! – it’s mayben in the Scottish election result .. but I’m sure it’s all going according to plan for the people who set it in motion in the first place … Peter

    Reply
  6. Dusty

    Thanks for that Kate – wasn’t aware of that problem with bees – they are very important creatures.
    Thanks for stopping by – yes another trip planned soon – Scotland, but it is where we have been before so maybe not so many photos this time.  However, I will try to find something interesting for a blog!
    Cheers
    Dusty
    x
     

    Reply
  7. Rog

    Where are all those good beeeeez going to eh?  It is a bit scary, somethin else we screwed up one time too many??

    Reply
  8. Ye Olde

    Hi Kate,
    I’m with Sarah,  white with one sugar as well please!
    You have an interesting space here, and some fabulous photos, the sunset is incredible… It looks like you live in paradise, do you get to go in the water much, or under it at all?
     
    Over here, the theoery re. bees and  their imminent demise, is mobile phone emmisions from masts and also.. mobile phones.. I dont know what you call them is S.Africa.. cell phones, or is that just in the U.S?
     
    Thanks for popping over, and for your kind comment, its always nice to have visitors, both old & new, so please feel free to return at any time, and I will get the kettle on.
    Monday was a bit of a wash out, but I was still full of the joys of football, so apart from being a little bored at times, it was ok.
    Have a good week,
    Take care, and I will check back again soon,
    All the best
    Woof woof

    Reply
  9. meg

    Thank you for showcasing this problem; as a aspiring gardener, living in Great Central Valley of California, this is a very crucial issue in my world. We need to protect & nuture the bees, or we will find ourselves with many foods we take for granted; I have a beekeeper friend who spends her own time & money rescuing swarms that would otherwise be poisoned by frightened, uneducated homeowners.

    Reply
  10. meg

    Thank you for showcasing this problem; as a aspiring gardener, living in Great Central Valley of California, this is a very crucial issue in my world. We need to protect & nuture the bees, or we will find ourselves with many foods we take for granted; I have a beekeeper friend who spends her own time & money rescuing swarms that would otherwise be poisoned by frightened, uneducated homeowners.

    Reply
  11. jason

    Someone told me that the radio waves used by mobile phones were causing the bees to get lost and die, unsure if this is true but perhaps you should check it.  Submarine sona does the same thing to whales so kind of makes sense.

    Reply
  12. Kenneth

    Hi Kate.
                   There are some very true and meaningful comments below, however, not once has the word "HONEY" been mentioned, untill now…….."HONEY" I just love it.
    I have been aware of the steady decline of the Honeybee and I think we can expect the market for Honey to reflect this. "Oh dear", I am going to miss my honeycoated cornflakes, it goes sweetly with your coffee also Kate.
     I am going now, but bee carefull I might bee coming back…!
     
     

    Reply
  13. swamp

    Morning Kate, just stopping by for a quick coffee, before I join the mad rush of the world. Enjoy the rest of the day.  🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

