Tomato Confit – The joy of food

Firstly let me say thank you to Kenny for the feedback on the Carrot salad with mint and lemon. And I also thank Mei (aka ‘I love my bipolar’) for sharing one of her favourite Cantonese recipes with us. By serving it with the suggested chilli dipping sauce we once again would incorporate one of the spices discussed in the project on Healing Herbs & spices. Mei perhaps you would like to provide your recipe for the chilli dipping sauce as well.

Today’s recipe is a Tomato Confit which includes the herbs and spices of Lemon-thyme, fennel seeds, garlic and chilli. Confit tomatoes are richer and mellower than roast tomatoes, can be served as a first course salad with some greens such as rocket and a little feta, dressed with the juices of the pan, and accompanied by good crusty bread. The confit tomatoes can also be tossed with your favourite pasta or served as a side dish with meat, chicken or fish. The cooked tomato confit will keep for about 5 days in the fridge.

Tomato Confit  serves 4

Set oven temperature to 140C/275F/Gas1

Ingredients

650g (1lb 7oz) plump summer tomatoes, cut in half

1 tsp fennel seeds

6 sprigs lemon thyme

1 generous tablespoon course sea salt (I use Maldon)

2 teaspoons coarsely crushed black pepper corns

Loose cloves of garlic from 1 garlic head, pealed and crushed

2 crushed dried chillies (optional)

120ml extra virgin olive oil

Gently Mix the halved tomatoes together with the spices, herbs, salt and oil. Place the tomatoes in an oven proof dish/pan just large enough to fit the tomatoes snugly. Pour over the seasoned olive oil. Cook for 3 hours basting every 40 minutes with the oil in the pan. To do this remove the pan from the oven, tip the pan a little to one side, scoop up the oil and drizzle over each tomato, without disturbing the tomatoes too much. This dish can be served hot or at room temperature.

 

5 thoughts on “Tomato Confit – The joy of food

  1. Monica

    Good morning Kate………..I loved all this information and the recipes sound so great too…………I will try these for sure
    How are you these days ??

    Reply
  2. Mei's

    Hi Kate, I forgot to ask you in my last comment, my hubby want me to ask you for a south Africa curry recipe, O! forgot the name of it or does got a name? I got to ask him again when he come home. He and his family used to lived in South Africa in the late 70’s for 3 years. I don’t had the recipe for the sweet chill garlic dips, I brought it in a Chinese shop, do you had a Chinese shop near you?
     
    I do have a home made chili dip made from dried shrimps, garlic and birds eye chili, very hot!!! Nice with the turnip cake too! My daughter loves this dip, she used it on nearly everything! Have a good day! Mei

    Reply
  3. Suki x

    Hi Kate This tomato receipe sounds great I will bear it in mind for the summer when the tomatos ripen and I have so many I don’t know what to do with them!   I am glad and surprised to hear you use Malden Sea Salt, Malden is 15 miles from where I live, it is great to know it is exported to SA
     
    keep the receipes coming thanks
     
    Suki x
     

    Reply
  4. Coffee With Kate

    Mei, with regard to your question….there are many different varieties of curries, can he be more specific, then I will be able to find something suitable for him.
    Take Care…Kate

    Reply
  5. Suzi

    Hi Kate … It’s been awhile since I visited you … Ooo i so wish I could try these recipes but sadly i’m on a low- residue diet, ( For medical reasons) 😦  … and talk about struggling on it. Boy is it hard! …  tc … Luff Suzi xXx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

