Carrot Salad with Mint & Lemon – The Joy of food

Carrots are so amiable and there are few tastes that don’t marry well with them. Carrots can be cooked with spices, herbs, garlic, and chilli, used in sweet dishes such as carrot cake, or in pickles and with meat or fish; they go with cheese and with other vegetables too. Today’s recipe involves mint and lemon.

Carrot Salad with Mint and Lemon

This is a fabulous salad; by adding plenty of fresh lemon and mint you will have a small miracle of flavourful salad on your hands.

Serves 4

450g (1lb) small carrots

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

Juice of ½ a lemon

2 tablespoons chopped mint

Salt and pepper

Heat the oven to 220C/425F/Gas7

Top and tail the carrots, then halve lengthways and cut each piece in half again. Toss the carrots in a baking pan with the olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Bake until tender and starting to brown.

Tip into a bowl and mix together with the lemon juice and mint and if needs be an extra drizzle or two of olive oil.  Leave to cool and serve at room temperature.

Instead of oven baking you can of course sauté the carrots on the stove instead. I find it convenient to combine the cooking of this dish with what ever else I may be roasting in the oven.

 

9 thoughts on “Carrot Salad with Mint & Lemon – The Joy of food

  1. Kenneth

    This sounds like something I have been looking for to compliment the  poached trout I intend to enjoy this evening, mint and lemon never tried it before look forward to tasting it.
    Can you feel it  "hot hot hot "
    The sun is beating down once more from a cloudless sky, slight breeze coming in from the sea helping to cool my brow that is already dripping with beads of persperation, looks like we are in for another scorcher. Never had weather like this in April before, has something to do with global warming or so they say.
    Happy to have you back Kate.
                                                    Enjoy your day….Kenny.
                                                   
     

    Reply
  2. Mei's

    Hi Kate, thanks for the comment again, I just finish a reply for you with a recipe but my finger are giving me hard time its gone!!! I try again later. I’m hungry now! Back soon. Mei

    Reply
  3. P

    Hi,
    I hope you are well,
    I haven’t seen you at The G Spot in a while,
    Please pass by when you have the time,
    Take care,
    Phil.

    Reply
  4. Mei's

    Hi, come back to keep my words, here is one of my favour snack:
     
    DEEP-FRIED TURNIP CAKE INGREDIENTS: 240 g. turnip, 360 g. autumn rice flour or plain flour, 4 tablespoons cornflour, 1 teaspoon salt, 2 cups water, half cup Chinese dried shrimps, white pepper.
     
    METHOD: 1 Soak dried shrimps in hot water, shred the turnip finely, mix it well with half the salt and white pepper. 2 Mix both the flour with 2 cups water, add turnip shreds, dried shrimps, salt and white pepper to stir well. 3 Put turnip mixture 80% full in a mould with a long handle (I use a Chinese wok ladle), deep fry in hot oil medium heat until the cake floats away from the mould, continue to fry until golden yellow. I like to serve it with a Chinese Chili Garlic Dips. ummm! Have fun and enjoy! Mei 
     
    PS:Sometimes I cooked in a large frying pan with just a little bit of oil, cook it like a pancake, the texture will be different from the other one but still ummm! It’s easier!

    Reply
  5. Cindy

    Hi Kate,
     
    Lovely photos … Clifton House looks absolutely amazing … wishing I was there. 🙂
     
    Merry April
     

    Reply
  6. Kenneth

    Morning Kate.
                           I tried your lemon and mint salad last night, in a word, "different", it was very nice indeed
    combined with new potatos it enhanced the whole dish dramaticly and left a lingering taste in my mouth and my mind.
    It always amazes me to think that a couple of well choosen herbs or spices can compleatly change a boring meal, into a dish of fire or a dish of refreshing and delightfull surprises.
     
    weather wise it is another glorious day here, a little chilly to begin with but the sun soon warmed things up, getting ready for another hard day in the garden.
     
    Have a nice day Kate and thankyou for the coffee, if it is hot tomorrow morning, could i have a pineapple juice with ice please, ho, and could you make sure the ice is fresh, that frozen stuf is no good.
                  Kenny.
     
     

    Reply
  7. Monica

    I have used mint on steamed carrots many times……..I absolutely love it and thnk the mint is just waht the carrots need ……
    very good recipe………:o)

    Reply
  8. meg

    This sounds absolutely wonderful; I’m growing all of these things in my garden this season (first time for carrots, & third year for Meyer’s lemons), but I’m not going to wait in order to try the recipe 🙂
    Thanks for dropping by my garden for a visit & leaving the kind words. I’ve been lurking around here for a couple of weeks, enjoying the time studying the essential herbs & spices. As I’m a novice gardener & aspiring cook, you have been inspiring me.

    Reply
  9. meg

    This sounds absolutely wonderful; I’m growing all of these things in my garden this season (first time for carrots, & third year for Meyer’s lemons), but I’m not going to wait in order to try the recipe 🙂
    Thanks for dropping by my garden for a visit & leaving the kind words. I’ve been lurking around here for a couple of weeks, enjoying the time studying the essential herbs & spices. As I’m a novice gardener & aspiring cook, you have been inspiring me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

