Dill-Healing herbs & spices for your kitchen

We are now on to the 5th item in the category healing herbs or spice for your kitchen. Thanks to those who have shared information in their responses.

5. Dill

Dill has been used to soothe the digestive tract and treat heartburn, colic, and gas for thousands of years. The herb has an antifoaming action that suggests why it may help break up gas bubbles. Like parsley, dill is rich in chlorophyll, which is good to sweeten the breath.

Dill goes with fish, smoked fish, herrings, squid, calamari, cuttlefish, and octopus, eggs, cabbages, brussels sprouts and kale, cucumber, beetroot, capers, dried beans, fresh white cheese, green beans, horseradish, mayonnaise, potatoes, rice, sauerkraut, sour cream, tomatoes, zucchini.

4 thoughts on “Dill-Healing herbs & spices for your kitchen

  1. Monica

    Thanks so much for clarifying that for me Kate, I love all of those pulses and happen to have a tin of Lentil soup in my pantry. I love it !!  I will add some of these pulses in my next batch of veggie soup !! Yumm !!  I love dill too and now after reading all of this, I am very very hungry !! lol
    Thanks for the information, the mention and the delicious coffee !!
    xo Moni

    Reply
  2. swamp

    Morning Kate, Dill is top of my list for some of its ‘healing’ powers. Get plenty of gas bubbles here in the swamp.
    A point for the teaser answer; and a happy St. Patricks Day to you.

    Reply
  3. me

    Hi Kate, happy mother’s day to you too. Hope you were spoilt too, mine did ok, great infact :0) I still find it strange but lovely that my daughter makes me a slap up dinner, wonderful lol. Hope your day was perfect too.
    mariexx

    Reply
  4. Monica

    I bought some dill yesturday on my shopping trip and used it on our eggs … Yummy yummy !! I forgot how much I really like the taste of it…..thanks for the tip….
    Hope you are enjoying your sunday !! :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

