Healing Herbs & Spices – Cinnamon

The third item on the list of healing herbs and spices to use in your kitchen is Cinnamon which we will discuss next……..but before continuing; thank you to Kenny for his input on the banishing of the pesky snail. 

3. Cinnamon

Cinnamon bark contains an oily chemical called cinnamaldehyde that kills a variety of illness-causing bacteria, including the dreaded E. coli, salmonella, and staphylococcus aureas. Research shows that cinnamon is also able to stop the growth of the Asian flu virus. Herbalists report that cinnamon bark also helps regulate the menstrual cycle and checks flooding during menopause. And cinnamaldehyde has a tranquilizing effect that helps reduce anxiety and stress.

Incorporated into many cuisines, cinnamon is particularly favoured in the cooking of Morocco, India, and Malaysia, where it is used in curries, deserts, rice, and meat dishes. It is good with apples, cherries,  peaches, pears, chocolate, figs, honey, oranges, mandarin and grapefruit, bananas, parsnips, carrots, pumpkin and it is also an essential component in garam masala and the Indian tea masala chai. Cinnamon should not be confused with cassia.

8 thoughts on “Healing Herbs & Spices – Cinnamon

  1. Judex

    Hi Kate,
     
    I like Cinnamon in black tea with a little milk and sugar; very good taste and smell.
     
    In Mauritius we call it "Ilaiti". It is favoured in many foods as well as deserts. Custards with Cinnamon also is pleasent for the mouth and the nose.
     
    Though I consume many of those things you mention on your page, I have never thought of their goodness.  Thanks to point these out.
     
    I follow with much interest. Kate, keep the good work. We are enriched by your page contents.
     
    Take care,
    Love,
    Judex. xxx 
     
     

    Reply
  2. Monica

    Hi Kate, came for coffee………Mmmmm, I love coffee….I am so glad you came over to introduce yourself. I love your site here and I just read about the cinnamon. I have recently had some info on the goodness of cinnamon and my hubby has been putting it on his toast each morning ( and night ) with honey……He loves it !! I want to get into consuming more of it, but I try to stay away from toast and honey. I wonder………..do you know of a way I can eat it and maybe it would enhance weight loss ??? I am having trouble with my wieght lately and the doc said it is hormonal as I am in menopause………
    I really love to read such interesting topics…
    thanks, and I will see you again soon.
    ~~~~ Moni ~~~~~~~

    Reply
  3. swamp

    Morning Kate. Coffee’s good this morning.
    A point with the moon, well done. A little different today, but usual nonsense tomorrow.
    Enjoying these herbs and spices you are doing.
    Have a good Thursday

    Reply
  4. Kenneth

    Cinnamon (Cinnamomum verum, synonym C. zeylanicum) is a small evergreen tree 10-15 m tall, belonging to the family Lauraceae, native to Sri Lanka and Southern India. The bark is widely used as a spice.

    Reply
  5. Peter

    Hi KateWell, I’m not much on snails (prefer to let the hedgehogs eat them) but cinnamon I like !Just the usual stuff here, nothing changes … been wotking on some stories to break in the press soon .. good stuf, might cause some trouble at the elections for some crooks .. other than that … just the usual enjoyments of life !Regards from sunny ‘Edinburgh’ !Peter

    Reply
  6. Tootsie

     
    Hi Kate, Gosh it’s been ages since I’ve dropped in so my very sincere apologies for not being a more regular visitor. I came on a mission this afternon cuz I was having a chat with someone recently about the properties of cinnamon. It got me thinking that I’d seen a blog about it somewhere…..and that was where you came in!!! ;o))
     
    So……..I’m reliably informed that cinnamon is also good for reducing your blood sugar (very handy for the diabetic I was chatting to). I couldn’t remember what other things you’d said about it so thought I’d pop over and refresh my memory.
     
    Thanks hun.          Hugs    Tootsie xx
     

    Reply

Leave a Reply

