Healing Herbs & Spices For Your Kitchen

Of all the herbs and spices you can choose for flavour, there are some that are more powerful than the rest. You will be surprised to see the many conditions for which they have proven useful. I will introduce and discuss 15 of these herbs and the benefits over the next few days.

1.  Basil

Basil is an herbal carminative; it can relieve gas and soothe an upset stomach one possible explanation for its calming effect is the compound called eugenol, which has been shown to help ease muscle spasms. Studies also suggest that compounds found in basil may help disrupt dangerous chain of events that can lead to the development of cancer.

Basil has an aniseed flavour. Its most famous partnership is with ripe tomatoes and extra virgin olive oil.There a various kinds of basil, all worth exploring.

Basil is also a favourite flavouring in South-East Asian cookery, appearing in curries, soups and noodle dishes.

Basil also goes with: eggplants (aubergine) fresh white cheese, parmesan cheese, lamb,  pine nuts, olive oil, potatoes, prawns, rock lobster, sardines, scallops, tomatoes, walnuts, zucchini.
 
5 thoughts on “Healing Herbs & Spices For Your Kitchen

  1. Dusty

    Hi – like your herb blog – will watch for more thanks…..I use a lot of basil – we love it.
    Ta for visiting me and leaving several comments !!  Ha ha.  Pleased you like my hanging basket and yes, it does need to be kept damp but it is not a big problem, being just near the front door.
    Enjoyed visiting your space as always.
    love
    Dusty
    x
     

    Reply
  2. Suki x

    Hi Kate thanks for your visit, we use Basil occasionally but after reading this I will take a second look at what I can put it with I know I have some seeds, so tomorrow I will dig (Hoho) them out and get some growing in doors, why not tonight I hear you ask? well just about to leave for Yoga, Ahhhhhhhhh, so should be far too relaxed when I get in.
     
    Om shanti
     
    Suki x

    Reply
  3. swamp

    Morning Kate. Weekends go to quickly, don’t they. Blink, and they’re gone.
    I love herbs, so I’m looking forward to this.
    A point with the coffee too.
    Have a good Tuesday

    Reply
  4. LAIRD

    Couple of years ago I planted Basil, only to see it devoured by slugs. This year, as Spring approaches,  I intend having more containers,probably growing herbs in the garden – any growing tips with your herb articles would be welcome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

