Take time

When was the last time you did absolutely nothing? Our world is so addicted to productivity that we feel guilty if we’re not doing something. But taking time daily to be still and inactive opens us to the spacious present. It nurtures and restores balance. There is such a thing as sacred idleness, the cultivation of which is now fearfully neglected.

The need for nurturing rest should not be viewed as mere idleness for it is hardly a waste of time; to take time to lie on the grass on a summer day or listen to the murmur of water, or watch the clouds float across the sky, or listen to beautiful music. Give yourself a regular gift of inactivity; your body and mind needs it and will benefit from it.

7 thoughts on “Take time

  1. jason

    btw, did you listen to that radio program about blogs ?
     
    I thought they were unfair, i have read a lot of printed crud compared to what is on some blogs, the only thing of consistent high quality is the arts section in the weekend ft which says a lot about too much waffle in print.
     
    jason
    wafflin

    Reply
  2. Trev

    I feel absolutely no guilt whatsoever about doing absolutely nothing. In fact – I pride myself on it.
     
    "Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow" – Quote by someone, couldn’t be bothered to look up who.

    Reply
  3. Kenneth

    I rise each morning to let the day unfold, with no hurry, no worry, and no curry,
    I have honed my idleness to the point of perfection, I do not wish to be part of the rat race, there are no clocks in my house, it is my "time" I spend it as I wish and I cherish every idle moment.
    My eyes are quick to see the beauty of the rose scant thought I give its thorn.
     
     
     

    Reply
  4. Greg

    Good morning Kate,
    I love my quiet time. However, there was a time in my life when I was dominated by my type A-personality. Yes, always on the go. I’ve lived and learned.
    It may surprise some people that God’s Word and modern science are not at odds with each other. When properly understood, they actually work together in harmony to establish truth in both realms. We are a spirit, have a soul (will and emotions), and currently live in a body.
    Have a wonderful day, Greg
    Time for some more coffee.

    Reply
  5. Rhapsody

    Hi, just on my weekend browse thought I’d stop in and say a friendly hello while i sip my herbal tea. On the issue of sitting still and doing nothing, that is one issue that does escape me as I am well aquainted with leisure bouts into the vast epilogue to nothingness. I’ve learnt that Sometimes to do nothing is the best thing one can do for one self as it allows time to recollect, reflect, reconnect and disconnect.
     
    Peace, nice space……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

