Cauliflower…Not usually one of my favourites

Each week I have an organic box of fresh fruit and vegetables, grown in the Robertson area, delivered to my door.

Apart from getting wonderful good quality produce; each week’s selection  challenges my Chefs skills.(I never know what I will be getting)

So today, standing in my kitchen, I have a beautiful head of cauliflower in one hand and a rather sumptuous apple in the other…and my mind starts to play with the what ifs, and as I ponder a recipe starts to come together……..here it is.

Cauliflower, Apple and Ginger soup

All of the ingredients mentioned work fabulously together producing a delicious soup, serves 2 as main or 4 as a starter.

Ingredients

150ml apple juice

150ml water

5cm knob of fresh ginger

1apple peeled, cored and chopped

1 head of cauliflower, tough stalks removed +/- 400gm

1 tablespoon fish sauce

5ml leaf masala (or curry powder)

75gm almonds

6 sprigs of coriander leaves

Method

Put the apple juice and ginger in a pan, place the cauliflower and chopped apple in a steamer and place in the pot over the apple juice. Leave to steam for about 6 minutes or until the ingredients are tender.

Remove the steamer with the apple and cauliflower and set aside.

To the remaining apple juice liquid in the pan add, 150ml of water, the leaf masala, fish sauce and boil together for about I minute.

Place the steamed cauliflower, apple and coriander in the liquid, add the almonds, coriander sprigs and blend to a smooth glossy consistency. Serve with some fresh crisp bread.

This soup could also be served chilled on a hot summer day, complement it with some walnut bread and a wine that suggests flavours of citrus.

8 thoughts on “Cauliflower…Not usually one of my favourites

  1. Suki x

    Hi Kate this sounds like a wonderful dish I will be trying it out soon, fresh organic veg is wonderful, take a look at my site and see it growing.
     
    Thanks for an interesting site, I shall pop back for coffee again
     
    Om Shanti
     
    Suki X

    Reply
  2. Judex

    Hi Kate,
     
    Each time I visit your page, I feel hungry ! It must be delicious !
     
    Thanks for your message on my page. I have added "News now…"
     
    We keep in touch.
     
    Take care.
    Judex.

    Reply
  3. Jazzy J

    Wow that sounds lovely. I have copied the recipe and sent it via email to my sister who loves to cook. I am not a good cook at all and my skills are equivalent to those of a caveman with no fire! lol Im back to work for six days this week so expect my presence daily here lol. Take care. LvJ

    Reply
  4. Coffee With Kate

    Hi Jazzy J, and welcome back in your usual whirlwind ball of energy fashion.
    Let me know if your sister likes the recipe.
    All the best,
    Kate

    Reply
  5. Coffee With Kate

    Hi Judex
    I hope you try the recipe and that you don’t just salivate over it….it is very good, and extremely easy to make.
    Take care
    Kate

    Reply
  6. LAIRD

    How can you do that to a cauliflower? Try cauliflower cheese with roast beef…..forget the yorkshire pudding! Maybe forget the meat…..a meal/starter…! Bon appetit.
    Thanks for your comments – you may incorporate what you will from the Castle…..:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

